East Meets West with Traditional Chinese Medicine

Eastern medicine, popularly known as Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) and Western medicine approach the human body from different perspectives:

Traditional Chinese Medicine

Eastern medicine defines the human body from a functional perspective.

Eastern medicine focuses on the holistic view of a human body.

Eastern medicine has always recognized that food is medicine; and that the wrong combination of food is poison.

Western Medicine

Western medicine defines the human body from an anatomical perspective.

Western medicine focuses on each individual organ.

Western medicine has brought great value to our lives, but its singular approach has contributed to today’s health and dietary challenges.

Yet today, the most advanced medical institutions have started to employ Eastern medicine’s philosophy and methodology in their next generation treatments. Applying Western medicine with an Eastern medicine framework offers a holistic solution to take care of and improve one’s health.




5 Major & 6 Supporting Organs

In Traditional Chinese Medicine, the body is comprised of five major and six supporting organs, popularly known as Zang Fu. These organs have complementary functions.

When properly balanced, the body maintains optimum function. The Chinese believe that the key to overall health lies in the wellbeing of these essential organs, and that food plays a crucial role in ensuring their ideal performance. If the internal organs are healthy, the rest of the body remains healthy. Everything is about flow. When the blood is a healthy condition like wine, not sticky like ketchup (consistency for unhealthy people) then it can carry all the nutrition to our cells and carry out the toxin that the cells expel. This internal health manifests into physical beauty and longevity.

Self Balancing Food was developed based on the Zang Fu Theory of Traditional Chinese Medicine. The Zang Fu theory is based on 11 essential organs working in harmony within the body to create balance. From balance comes health, vitality, and physical beauty.

There are five Zang organs (the yin) – heart, spleen, lung, kidney, and liver
There are six Fu organs (the yang) – stomach, small intestine, large intestine, bladder, gall bladder and sanjiao (the three regions/cavities of the body – upper, middle, and lower)